Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

USDA Direct loan rejection: Clarifying some inaccurate info posted here

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

USDA Direct loan rejection: Clarifying some inaccurate info posted here

I have just been rejected for a USDA direct loan. Shanethemortgageman is a very helpful poster, however he is incorrect (or perhaps policy has recently changed?) about two things per this loan:

1)  the non-occupant co-borrower cannot make all the income. This is explicitely the reason I was rejected.

2)  The two year income history is non-waivable. IE, recent graduates cannot have just started a new job.

This is according to the USDA people in Wray, Colorado. Hopefully this helps someone. 

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
bbb3601
Frequent Contributor

Re: USDA Direct loan rejection: Clarifying some inaccurate info posted here

We were going to do direct in Ohio (but made 800 too much) and I am a new grad. I provided transcript, degree, was out of probation and would have had no issue meeting income guideline.

NFCU Cash Rewards 20,000,NFCU Plat 17,000, NavCheck 15,000, USAA Cash 4,000, USSA Rate Adv 2,000, USAA AMEX 3,500, Freedom 2,000, Capital One 2,000, Barclay's Apple 1,500, Barclay's Ring 1500, Various Store Cards.

Message 2 of 5
ReBuild-OH17
New Contributor

@Anonymous wrote:

I have just been rejected for a USDA direct loan. Shanethemortgageman is a very helpful poster, however he is incorrect (or perhaps policy has recently changed?) about two things per this loan:

1)  the non-occupant co-borrower cannot make all the income. This is explicitely the reason I was rejected.

2)  The two year income history is non-waivable. IE, recent graduates cannot have just started a new job.

This is according to the USDA people in Wray, Colorado. Hopefully this helps someone. 

Did you try another lender? Maybe this is that particular lenders guidelines. Just my 2 cents...

Message 3 of 5
bbb3601
Frequent Contributor