Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

VA Loan - Gap in employment

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

VA Loan - Gap in employment

I'm a registered nurse and worked in COVID units all through the pandemic. I was burnt out and decided to take the summer off, April thru August, five months. I recently went back to work and would like to buy a home using my VA entitlement. How does a five month employment gap affect my approval odds. I'm an RN case manager salaried at $83,200. I'm also receiving VA disability compensation at 70% for $1,566 / mo. Any insight would be helpful. Thanks!

Message 1 of 2
1 REPLY 1
VALoanMaster
Valued Contributor

Re: VA Loan - Gap in employment

@Anonymous wrote:

I'm a registered nurse and worked in COVID units all through the pandemic. I was burnt out and decided to take the summer off, April thru August, five months. I recently went back to work and would like to buy a home using my VA entitlement. How does a five month employment gap affect my approval odds. I'm an RN case manager salaried at $83,200. I'm also receiving VA disability compensation at 70% for $1,566 / mo. Any insight would be helpful. Thanks!

Hi @Anonymous,

You'll be fine. 

Here's the VA guidelines: