Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Want to buy a home, question about DTI and credit history

tag
scvbd99
Frequent Contributor

Want to buy a home, question about DTI and credit history

I make $46-$49K/year, and am single.  Employed full time as a public school teacher.  

Just opened the cards you see in my signature in the past month, and they're all my first revolving lines of credit....and I plan on keeping my over utilization rate for all of them under 5%, with zero balances on most of them.  

My FICO scores are also listed in my signature.  

I'm a veteran, and am elibige for a VA guaranteed home loan.  

One of my big problems is that I have $90K in student loans.  I am currently making payments because I qualify for something called IBR which makes my payments only $325/month, and that won't change unless I somehow start making $90K/year, which is pretty unlikey.  

I'm wondering  how my limited revolving credit history and student loan situation will factor in at all when/if I apply for a home loan.  Thanks.  I'm a real noob at talking about home buying.  

800+ for all 3 CRAs.

Student loan forgiveness/discharge FINALLY complete.
Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
BrianB_The_Loan_Professor
Valued Contributor

Re: Want to buy a home, question about DTI and credit history

Have you had other credit - car payments etc that are either active or inactive and reporting positive? 

How long have you been paying on the student loans?

The student loan payment will be factored into the debt ratios - the total owed will not count against you

Having new credit if that is all you have may be an issue - they look for a track record of positive credit- The history should go back a couple of years

If you have older tradelines that is fine - 

Scores look fine for VA - 

VA is a great program - No down Payment - no monthly MIP

Thanks for your service - and for teaching - it is truly an under appreciated profession

Good Luck

Brian