cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What do I need to do to prepare for a mortgage?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

What do I need to do to prepare for a mortgage?

Okay so my fiance and I have set a target for buying a house for July 2020 which is when our current lease on our apartment is up. I'm not new to the credit game, but I'm new to home buying. At the time of closing on the house I will be 22 and she will be 21 with our combined incomes in the range of 55-60k.

My credit reports are 750 across the board

8 credit cards that I PIF each month

17k in deffered student loans that I won't owe on until early 2022

a 6 year car loan for 17k that I still owe 14.8k on

AAoA 1 year

HP 13

no derogs

Her reports are similar 740ish

1 of her own card and an AU on 3 of mine

6k in student loans that we are paying on

6 years car loan or 13k that she owes 9k on

AAoA 1.5 years

3 HP

no derogs

So I was just hoping to get some advice on what I need to be doing to prepare in the next 9-10 months. Our goal is to purchase a $150k, which we have 10% saved up for a down payment. Any advice would be really appreciated! I plan on applying for the mortage through NFCU which I read that I potentially only need 5% for a down payment, which makes me feel really comfortable with my current 10%

Message 1 of 20
19 REPLIES 19
Girlzilla88
Valued Contributor

Re: What do I need to do to prepare for a mortgage?