Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

credit score 520's and i want to purchase a house by november 2009

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

credit score 520's and i want to purchase a house by november 2009

I am a 32 year old married woman looking to purchase my first home this year.  My husband and I have income of about 6000 monthly but have dismal credit scores.  My score is in 520's and i think his is even lower.  We really want to take advantage of 2009 stimulus, I just recently paid about 3500 of credit card debt and i have about 5000 more to pay on one credit card.   Is it going to be possible to secure a loan by november this year?
Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
corkyduckfan
New Contributor

Re: credit score 520's and i want to purchase a house by november 2009

I am not an expert, but I will give my opinion.  This will be very difficult to pull of by November 2009, although it may be possible.  I think that your only chance is to obviously pay off all the charges you owe to a zero balance and then I would go to your city and see if there are any non-profit organizations that work with first time home buyers.  They will meet with you and pull a trimerge record of your credit history and tell you what you need to do before you will qualify for FHA.  I am working with a non-profit it my city and they have been very helpful.
Message 2 of 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Most lenders are going to want a middle scrore of 620. If you are married, they will take the lower of your two middle scores I believe. Most lenders are also going to want nothing late in the last 12 months atleast.

In addition to paying past bills, you need to have some positive lines of credit. That will raise your scores but usually only after having them for 12 months or more.

Message 3 of 7
nathan
Frequent Contributor