cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

how is the length of my employment factor in?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

how is the length of my employment factor in?

Question - I've been in my new job for about a year with a regular (i.e. non commissions) income every month. However, the first seven months I worked as an inpendent contractor with the same pay, same title, and was then made permanent. Will a lender that consider as a year or deduct the first months? Also, do I need to have been there for two years for the income to count? I have a contract with (incredibly) one year notice period on my salary, which guarantees some stability - will that be  considered by a lender? Thanks!

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
Peter1142
Established Contributor

Re: how is the length of my employment factor in?

As long as it was in the same line of work it should could to your 2 years and you can qualify as a salaried employee. You need 2 years of employment in the same line of work (that can be verified with IRS transcripts, otherwise you are likely to encounter serious underwriting issues.)
Message 2 of 7
ezdriver
Senior Contributor

If you have not been a full time, "permanent" employee for two or more years, there is no standard way that all underwriters will rule. An underwriter will evaluate and issue an exception...or not. 

Message 3 of 7
StartingOver10
Moderator Emerita

@Anonymous wrote:

Question - I've been in my new job for about a year with a regular (i.e. non commissions) income every month. However, the first seven months I worked as an inpendent contractor with the same pay, same title, and was then made permanent. Will a lender that consider as a year or deduct the first months? Also, do I need to have been there for two years for the income to count? I have a contract with (incredibly) one year notice period on my salary, which guarantees some stability - will that be  considered by a lender? Thanks!