cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

low credit hopefully bouncing back

tag
rubensmadder

low credit hopefully bouncing back

Hello. I'm hoping to gain some insight into my situation.  8 years ago my credit was excellent, high 700s fico score with reasonable revolving credit. Made the deciision to go to medical school full time and lived  on student loans. 4 years of medical  school, maxed out on some credit cards and fell behind payments (bad decisions...), did 4 years of specialty training, earning a nominal stipend, enough tomake ends meet. credit cards went into collection, settled about 20k of debt, . now i'm a full fledged physician earning a good salary, have been on time with my student loan payments for almost a year now, and have been putting aside a good amount for a downpayment on a home.  debt to income ratio is 16%. 

my question is: with settled debt on my record for 1 of 7 years, good payment history on my current good standing loans, are my chances for approval for a 300k home loan ( with 100k downpayment) slim? i understand that i've made bad decisions in the past, but does my good income, and low DTI ratio, and good payments history thus far make up for anything in the eyes of a mortgage lender? any insights, be it negative and of course positive is greatly appreciated. 

Thanks!

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
BrianB_The_Loan_Professor
Valued Contributor

Re: low credit hopefully bouncing back

A LOT of bads will be overlooked when you are putting 100k into the deal

The older stuff shouldnt be an issue unless there are judgments and those will have to be remedie

are you current on all student loans? Those can be a bit sticky -

Brian

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Brian B The Loan Professor
Mortgage Banker - offering FHA, VA, USDA , and Conventional mortgages in all 50 states -