Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

$52,000 in debt

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

$52,000 in debt

I just had a chance to look at the whole picture of my student loans. It all amounts to $52,000 and that is just absolutely frightening. My summer internship should knock off a quarter of this total. Anyways, how much student debt do you have? 

Message 1 of 50
49 REPLIES 49
Al209

Re: $52,000 in debt

My wife and I have a combined $35k after about 4 years each at a state university.  My wife is currently graduated and working and I am a graduate student, so we we are slowly paying down some of my wife's loans.  After I graduate, we will accelerate the payment and hopefully have them gone in a 1 to 2 years.

Starting Score: 714
Current Score: 728
Goal Score: 750

Take the myFICO Fitness Challenge
Message 2 of 50
Anonymous
Not applicable

$8500 

Message 3 of 50
Anonymous
Not applicable

I'm lucky -- found a job while in high school and climbed the ladder without college.  But that was 30 years ago, lol.

@Anonymous wrote:

I just had a chance to look at the whole picture of my student loans. It all amounts to $52,000 and that is just absolutely frightening. My summer internship should knock off a quarter of this total. Anyways, how much student debt do you have? 

How does your savings-emergency fund look?  If it's near $0, make sure to use some of your summer internship money to set aside an emergency fund.  Paying down debt is good, but if you don't have an emergency fund, no FICO score will save you.

Message 4 of 50
Anonymous
Not applicable

@Anonymous wrote:
I'm lucky -- found a job while in high school and climbed the ladder without college.  But that was 30 years ago, lol.

@Anonymous wrote:

How does your savings-emergency fund look?  If it's near $0, make sure to use some of your summer internship money to set aside an emergency fund.  Paying down debt is good, but if you don't have an emergency fund, no FICO score will save you.