Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Am i eligible for NFCU, PenFed, or DCU?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Am i eligible for NFCU, PenFed, or DCU?

Greetings myfico members,

I am trying to gain membership in anyone of these CU by way of a savings account and than down the line I wish to open a CC or an auto loan with one. My fico scores are good and are all above 700. I personally would like my membership to be soft pull only but may be willing to let a hard pull go through.  I work for Elkhart County in Indiana so I guess you can say I work for the government also if that helps at all? Sorry I'm just new to memberships and only have a membership with my local CU, but am looking to expand and make a savings account with another quality CU. If anyone can help that would be great. Thanks in advance myfico members!

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Am i eligible for NFCU, PenFed, or DCU?

You only need a very small donation of $5-10 to join DCU and Penfed.  Navyfed requires affilitation with DOD or a family or household member to sponsor you.  Penfed has been really tight lately after 2008.  I wouldn't bother with them.  You will be happy with DCU.

Message 2 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

Okay well is DCU a hard pull? If so is it worth it in your opinion if I plan on getting a CC later on and refinance a car loan later also?

Message 3 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

A DCU membership requires a hard pull on EQ.  Apply when you intend to finance a car.  They will probably also extend a credit card to you as well at that time.

Message 4 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi new to the boards here, but felt I could add to the convo.  Smiley Happy