cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dave Ramsey says FICO is "Stupid" ????

tag
increasingmyfico
Regular Contributor

Re: Dave Ramsey says FICO is "Stupid" ????

I stumble upon a lot of Dave Ramsey's posts. His advice is great if you live in 1952. For those of us in 2021 not so much. Paying cash is counterproductive to accumulating wealth. 

Message 11 of 56
Anonymalous
Valued Contributor

@SoCalGardener wrote:

@CreditInspired wrote:

I'm 69 yo and don't know a single person--relative, friend, coworker--who paid all cash for a house. Over my various careers, I've been a Realtor for  10 years, and again, not one all-cash buyer. Now, I know it happens, but it's not the majority.

So my question, and what I don't understand, is why is she solely invested in one man's theory so much so that she is crying. Why didn't she ask her relatives, her friends, her parents, her coworkers if they purchased their houses using all cash. 

Just goes to show what a variety of people we have here! EVERYONE in my family paid cash for their houses--and all other real estate they bought. For example, my grandmother owned rental properties throughout Pasadena, both residential and commercial, in addition to her personal homes, and paid cash for every single one of them. When my husband and I got a mortgage to buy our house, that was a first in my family!

My family tends to pay cash for houses and cars, as well. But that requires 1) reasonable income, 2) living below your means, 3) time, and 4) some ability to manage money.