cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Do credit unions verify/prove your eligibility when you join via roommates?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Do credit unions verify/prove your eligibility when you join via roommates?

Lol... You're really turning logic on his head. Your sister's boyfriend might be a Wisconsin naive but he's not a Wisconsin resident if he has established residence out of state.

Also you are not legally related to him.

Finally living is the same house as someone else doesn't mean you qualify. You will need to demonstrate you contribute to the household by means of showing your name on the lease, a utility bill, or a shared bank account where you both make deposits to meet household expenses.

But I guess you'll find out eventually. Btw I'm a Wisconsin resident and very familiar with this credit union.
Message 11 of 21
Royalbacon
Frequent Contributor

My sister's boyfriend still has family living in Wisconsin that has attended college at some point in their life, so therefore my sister's boyfriend is eligible. Hence the option "Are you an immediate family member of any person eligible to be a member?"

And then the option "Persons of the same residence maintaining a single economic unit" So yes, living the same household does qualify you for membership. The "maintaining a single economic unit" means you contribute in someway to the expensves, (rent, utilities, etc.) I am already aware of that. We're all on the lease, and the utility bills are in all our names, so that isn't an issue verifying that.

The part about being a Wisconsin resident applies to the first option and the second one of living within 5 miles of a branch. The other 3 options it doesn't matter where you reside. It doesn't say "Are you an immediate family member of any person eligible to be a member and a Wisconsin resident?"

Chapter 7 Bankruptcy Filed-September 2020 Discharged-December 2020