Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

HELP

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

HELP

Hello all! I'm new here! 

I'm currently a college student and need help (suggestions, ideas) to build and raise my credit score. I currently have the following: 

Wells Fargo College Cash Back: Credit Limit = $600 (used: $598.61)

State Farm Student VISA: Credit Limit = $500 (used: $499.52)

Credit One Bank VISA: Credit Limit = $300 (used: $297.68)

1st Financial Bank VISA: Credit Limit = $150 (used: $149)

First Premier Bank MasterCard: Credit Limit = $400 (used: none, approved but it took fees)

I also have 2 student loans (both are federal) reporting 

Cornerstone/Dept of Ed: $1,750

Cornerstone/Dept of Ed: $1,010 (this loan has interest) 

My credit scores (I'm using CreditKarma, any other suggestions are appreciated)

TransUnion: 533 (Updated Jan 6)

Equifax: 504 (Updated Jan 6)

Experian: ?

I do understand that having a high revolving balance does not look good and I do also understand that my credit utilization should be below 30%. I'm asking for help and advice on how to maintain a good credit history so I can advance to better cards. I have a limited income. I'm also only 18 years old.

Thanks for your time and input!

15 REPLIES 15
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: HELP

you have quite a few cards. just make a budget and pay down the balance and keep util down slowly. your score will be fine.

Message 2 of 16
Anonymous
Not applicable

You're already maxing out cards and accumulating debt at 18, the last thing you need is more credit to run up more debt. The most important thing for you is to paid down/off debt, revisit your budget and learn to live within/under your means.
Message 3 of 16
Kforce
Valued Contributor

@Anonymous wrote:
You're already maxing out cards and accumulating debt at 18, the last thing you need is more credit to run up more debt. The most important thing for you is to paid down/off debt, revisit your budget and learn to live within/under your means.

+ 100