Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

High-Yield Savings Accounts?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

High-Yield Savings Accounts?

Caveat: I'm very new to all of this so please try and explain things like I am five if it's not too much trouble Smiley LOL

I do my banking with Chase - checking and savings accounts both as well as two credit cards - Freedom and Freedom Flex. I have a...semi-decent amount in savings (five digit number) that gets a standard 0.01% interest rate. I've done a bit of reading the last couple of weeks and have come to realize that I could be doing better and have this money sitting in a high-yield savings account. It's only been sitting in my Chase account so if it's just going to sit it might as well be earning a better interest percentage, right? Are there any suggestions for high-yield savings accounts to place this money in? I value simplicity and really want to park it there and forget about it until there comes a point where I need it. The main two accounts I've read about are Marcus by Goldman Sachs and Ally. Because both of those are online-only banks and don't allow cash deposits, I'd keep a token amount in my Chase account for ease of convenience. I'd like to earn more interest if it's possible that I can.

If anyone has an account with Goldman-Sachs, Ally, or any other bank that they like specifically that have higher than standard rates, what do you consider to be the pros and cons?

Message 1 of 17
16 REPLIES 16
Aim_High
Super Contributor

Re: High-Yield Savings Accounts?