cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to be financially succesful before 30? What skills to develop?

tag
RoyBatty123
New Visitor

How to be financially succesful before 30? What skills to develop?

I'm a 26 year old man. In my teenage and young adulthood years I had a very sober mindset about money (I live in a European country) and little interest in personal finance. However, when we face situations that are new, we discover things about ourselves that we did not know. Now I am 26 years old, I work as an engineer in a pharmaceutical company, and this has made me think that maybe I am more ambitious and competitive than I thought.

However, despite having a highly qualified job, I live with a flatmate, I have some financial freedom to travel a bit and go out for drinks or a restaurant, but at the end of the month I don't save more than a few hundred euros (if I'm lucky). How am I going to buy a flat without getting into debt for life?

This is probably not your typical FICO post, just wanted to share my story and see if I can get some insights. I work every day to improve my technical and social skills, both at work and in the new circles I make. For now, I try to strengthen my job security, and acquire all the resources that can allow me to start trying to climb positions shortly. I don't consider it a waste of time to enjoy what makes you happy one day (going to the forest, for example), but I do feel sometimes that my energy is dispersed, or I don't channel it in the most effective way possible.

I would love to know, for example, what qualities/skills do people who are financially successful have? What points to work on? How to make social relations with circles of power?

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
NYJfan
Established Member

Re: How to be financially succesful before 30? What skills to develop?