cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I am 18, live in the US, make $54-66k in IT, have no debt, and am attending university. Any advice?

tag
mrstringbean
New Visitor

I am 18, live in the US, make $54-66k in IT, have no debt, and am attending university. Any advice?

Hi everyone,

I am 18 years old, live in the US, and I work in IT for a pharmaceutical company making about $54-66k per year (Pre-Tax). I live with my parents. In the fall, I will be attending a university as a full-time student. I will be commuting and all of my classes begin after 5:30 PM allowing me to still work full-time throughout school. In the next four years, I should be able to receive both a Bachelor's in Information Technology and a Master's of Computer Science. Tuition will cost $12-16k a year and I plan to put aside $1k per month for student loans. Aside from that, I currently have no outstanding debt.

I want to utilize my current situation as best as I can. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

Additional Information

My “bare minimum” expenses per month are $1,700 per month which leaves me with $2,666 in savings per month after taxes.

The reason I left my income as a range is because my base salary is $54,080, but putting in overtime + bonuses can reasonably increase my income to around $66,000. I work from 8 A.M to 5 P.M with a paid hour break. This schedule gives me an hour of overtime every day which (if I can do consistently) can provide an additional ~$10k a year.