Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Investing in "Cash"

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Investing in "Cash"

Over the weekend I was going over my brokerage and IRA accounts and trying to make sure I have a good mix... Specifically on my IRA I figured it would be good to have a pretty much risk free, yet semi-decent earning to ensure any fluctuations don't hurt bad. I bought into some money market funds that seem to have a return of 2.8% average.

Does this seem like it was a good move for stability? It's not my entire portfolio, just a new part of the mix. Still very new to investing and sticking really to mutual funds for now.
Message 1 of 17
16 REPLIES 16
CBartowski
Frequent Contributor

Re: Investing in "Cash"

I'm no professional but yes that sounds like what divsersification is, havings funds in various financial instruments. I'm taking similar action.

Out of curiosity, which MM did you use at 2.8%?

CARDS:
AMEX CS Plat | NSL -- Chase Freedom Flex | $19,000
AMEX Gold | NSL -- Citi Double Cash | $10,000
AMEX HH NAF | $1,000 -- Uber Visa | $5,000
CSR | $29,000 -- USAA Plat | $8,000
USAA AMEX | $23,000 -- MB Boundless | $11,900 -- CFU | $3,600 -- PenFed Pathfinder | $10,000 -- MS Plat | NSL

BANKS:
NFCU | USAA | PenFed | Schwab Bank | First Bank | Chase
Message 2 of 17
M_Smart007
Legendary Contributor

@Anonymous wrote:
Over the weekend I was going over my brokerage and IRA accounts and trying to make sure I have a good mix... Specifically on my IRA I figured it would be good to have a pretty much risk free, yet semi-decent earning to ensure any fluctuations don't hurt bad. I bought into some money market funds that seem to have a return of 2.8% average.

Does this seem like it was a good move for stability? It's not my entire portfolio, just a new part of the mix. Still very new to investing and sticking really to mutual funds for now.

I need Growth, so I am

80% into T. Rowe Price Blue Chip

20% into Vanguard Growth Admiral Shares