Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ira or Savings..newbie saver

tag
1prettyorchid
Contributor

Ira or Savings..newbie saver

I'm new to saving world.. specifically because I want to buy a home. Im projected to have around 15k saved by 12/31. 

I currently have 4k in my savings and $250 in an Ira. I also have another savings with $1000 (for emergencies). 

I'm making very little money in my money market savings (.40%). Would an ira be better since I don't plan on touching the money? I am willing to invest through Fidelity. Or should I play it safe? Please provide some insight..

4/29/21 After BK
EX 578 EQ 573 TU 477

8/15/21 EX 640 EQ 637 TU 614

Capital One QS1 $4000

Navy Federal secured $300

Discover $1800
Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
iced
Valued Contributor

Re: Ira or Savings..newbie saver

@1prettyorchid wrote:

I'm new to saving world.. specifically because I want to buy a home. Im projected to have around 15k saved by 12/31. 

I currently have 4k in my savings and $250 in an Ira. I also have another savings with $1000 (for emergencies). 

I'm making very little money in my money market savings (.40%). Would an ira be better since I don't plan on touching the money? I am willing to invest through Fidelity. Or should I play it safe? Please provide some insight..

An IRA is for retirement savings, so it's not suited to saving for the purpose of buying a home in a few years. Now, if you don't want to touch that money for a couple of decades, then yes an IRA could make sense.

Otherwise, you probably want a taxable brokerage account to invest money in. There's no minimum to when you can sell/withdraw and you have the same (or more) investment options than you do with an IRA. For a timeframe of a few years, investing still beats out keeping it in savings or a CD ladder, but you will want to play a bit conservative with your investments to minimize your losses in such a short timeframe.

Fidelity offers both.

Message 2 of 4
DONZI