Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Keeping track of which card to use

tag
McNugget
Regular Contributor

Keeping track of which card to use

I'm new to this game of using cards for rewards, so I was wondering how other people keep track of which card to use where. Eventually it will become muscle memory.

Right now I use Google Keep and have a pinned widget. It's sorted by category, then by highest point/reward. It's simple and quick to scroll through. Might help me plan which card to apply for next.
| Amex BCP | BoA Cash Rewards | Cap1 QS | Cap1 SavorOne | Chase Freedom | Chase Sapphire Preferred | Citi DC | Citi Simplicity | Discover It Cash Back | JCrew | USB Cash+ | Target (AU) |
Message 1 of 15
14 REPLIES 14
Matt9543
Established Contributor

Re: Keeping track of which card to use

I use the Mint app by Intuit, and yeah you have to sign in to your accounts but I've had zero issues with it.

FICO Scores (current as of November 24, 2020): Equifax: 740 | Experian: 751 | TransUnion: 732
Message 2 of 15
wasCB14
Super Contributor

I don't bother with such apps. They don't seem have a good grasp of bonus category definitions, let alone factor in certain promotions or relevant card benefits.

My wallet has a clear plastic ID insert. I used to write Freedom and Discover rotating categories on a 1.25x1.25 inch bit of paper and keep it visible that way.
Personal spend: Amex Gold, Amex Schwab Plat., BofA PR+CCR(x2), Costco
Business use: Amex Bus. Plat., BBP, Lowes Amex AU, CFU AU
Perks: Delta Plat., United Explorer, IHG49, Hyatt, "Old SPG"
Mostly SD: Freedom Flex, Freedom, Arrival
Upgrade/Downgrade games: ED, BCE
SUB chasing: AA Platinum Select
Message 3 of 15
Anonymous
Not applicable

I have a note on my iPhone but it’s not really that difficult for me to track. 

Rotating categories - Discover 5%

Groceries - NFCU Amex 3%

Utilities - BBVA 3%

Dining - NFCU Amex 2%

Everything else - PayPal Cashback 2%