Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

NFCU eligibility | my scenario

tag
_NERD
Established Contributor

NFCU eligibility | my scenario

I was in the army almost 20 years ago for a few months. My DD214 discharge reason says: FAILED MEDICAL PROCUREMENT STANDARDS (discharged for medical reasons while in boot camp). I don’t think I’m a veteran and never received or sought VA benefits.

If I have a DD214 showing I was in the armed forces at all, would I be eligible to join NFCU?

3B profile optimization in progress...
Message 1 of 18
17 REPLIES 17
AverageJoesCredit
Legendary Contributor

Re: NFCU eligibility | my scenario

I would think yes, in my eyes you qualify more than most who get to join as at least you went to bootcamp , lol, cant hold it against you medical reasons held you back. I would call Navy and see what they say. Like my Dad says, 30 days or 30 years, you served. Not many can claim even a day so good luck in your journeySmiley Happy
Message 2 of 18
RonM21
Valued Contributor

I would agree with AJC. Just having your foot in the door to boot camp is way further than most others go. No harm in calling. The worst that happens is they say you are not eligible. No harm done.

Total CL: $321.7kUTL: 2%AAoA: 7.0yrsBaddies: 0Other: Lease, Loan, *No Mortgage, All Inq's from Jun '20 Car Shopping

BoA-55k | NFCU-45k | AMEX-42k | DISC-40.6k | PENFED-38.4k | LOWES-35k | ALLIANT-25k | CITI-15.7k | BARCLAYS-15k | CHASE-10k

Message 3 of 18
Guyatthebeach
Valued Contributor

I would call them and ask. The worst they could say is no. If you can join NFCU, you should becuase Navy Federal is an excellent CU.

Please let us know what they say. I am curious.

Guyatthebeach

Message 4 of 18
_NERD
Established Contributor

I will let y’all know. I have lots to do next week credit wise, and I intend to knock some of it out on the beach @ Maui Smiley Wink