cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need to improve my score - how to pay credit cards?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Need to improve my score - how to pay credit cards?

Hello everyone. I am a newbie on here but have been poring through the many, many helpful posts for the last few months. I've tried to search and read through as many threads about this topic as I can, but I'm still confused about the right course of action as some have recommended paying off the smallest balances first and some have recommended paying down all of them to a certain percentage of usage.

My goal is to up my credit score. I am trying to do a cash out refinancing on our home, but my credit score is impacting my efforts (my spouse has very poor credit due to a divorce a few years ago, so this will be mostly on me). My two major issues with the score - I have a very thin profile due to having just moved to the US a few short years ago, and my credit card utilization is very high (they're almost all close to maxed out). 

I will have about $5000 that I can use to tackle the credit cards, and was wondering how best to do it to maximize chances of upping my credit score, hopefully by a fairly good amount. I just don't know what I should do in terms of whether I should pay off the ones I can first, or distribute payments towards every one of them to bring down the utilization of each individual card. I'm embarrassed to list them, but here they are:

Balance / Credit Limit

Citi Double Cash M/C             3489 / 3500 

Cap1 Quicksilver Visa             721 / 750.00 

Cap1 Platinum M/C                 1425 / 1500   

Discover IT                                1449 / 1500 

Best Buy Citi Visa                     1340 / 1500 

Heritage South Visa                  402 / 500  

They all have pretty high and similar interest rates, in the 20%+ range, so tackling the ones with the highest interest rates isn't really that much of a concern at the moment.