Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Personal Loan NFCU or Pen Fed

tag
caliguy1976

Personal Loan NFCU or Pen Fed

Looking for a personal loan... 

I was leveraged about 2 months ago (I had a few cards over 50%) and had credit in the 690s but Pen Fed turned me down for a PL saying I had too high of balances. This wasn't a reason given but I am new with Pen Fed. I have a personal loan with Amex for $25k which this month will only be $9500 left.)

I got some family money and paid things way down and my CC balances are at about 17% about to be 11% (they were 34% before when I applied).  Scores are now EX 771 TU 768 and EF 764.

I deposited 10k into my Pen Fed last month and got a statement for last month showing it. 

I have 2 cards with NFCU (29k and 22k and a 15k PLOC) with low balances $0, $7k and $4k... 7 year relationship which includes paid off car.

I have read NFCU has the bigger limits and Pen Fed the lower rates. Does Pen Fed ask for income docs? 

Thanks for any advice before I do this!!

165k in cards - 24k in usage as of today - will be 18k on the 11th (3 days away) cut date.

Message 1 of 26
25 REPLIES 25
cashorcharge
Community Leader
Super Contributor

Re: Personal Loan NFCU or Pen Fed

Happy you've been able to pay stuff down. Congrats!

While I have not applied for a loan, I have gotten 2 CC's with them recently and no POI was requested. 

I also have an account with NFCU and while I'm starting my relationship with them, they actually gave me a better APR on my first card.

Message 2 of 26
caliguy1976

Thanks. Hmm. A few months ago, I had just popped $100 into a Pen Fed account and then applied a few days later. I am not really looking for new cards as I have too many as it is. Is that blasphemy in this forum? Smiley Very Happy 

Message 3 of 26
cashorcharge
Community Leader
Super Contributor

Ultimately it depends on what your goal is with the additional credit