Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Post-Grad Savings

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Post-Grad Savings

Hello everyone, 

I'm new to the forum and figured I might as well dive in. I graduated last May 2017 with a degree in Computer Science. Since then I've been working as a software engineer full-time and make 65K per year. Over the past year, I've brought my credit up from around the 490's to the 650's across the board. I currently have the AMEX Delta Gold Skymiles (1K limit), Discover IT (1K limit), NFCU cashRewards ($500 limit) and Capital One QS1 ($500 limit which will increase next month to at least $750 -- credit steps program). I have about $1,200 saved up and by August I will have about $2,200. After August I won't have much to invest/save because my student loans will be out of deferment. I owe about 68K in student loans and as of right now it looks like they will be having me pay about $600-700 each month. I currently stay with my parents and don't pay rent or own a home (besides $400 to help my parents out each month). I have a $466 car not that I opened in August of 2017 with 11.9 interest rate. I plan to refinance that next month with NFCU. $27k left on loan, $22K for 10-day payoff quoted from Capital One. I am wanting to find the best way to invest my money I currently have saved up. Right now it's just sitting and I feel like I could be doing much more with it. I am looking to invest for only short-term. Any ideas/recommendations for saving (or even credit and student loans) would be greatly appreciated.

TIA

Message 1 of 11
10 REPLIES 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Post-Grad Savings

Also, I contribute %3 of my checks to 401k. I am looking for a quick way to increase my savings fund so 401k probably won't help much as it is more long-term.

Message 2 of 11
Appleman
Valued Contributor

To start congrats on graduating, the good salary and score improvements! Much to celebrate with those items.