Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Scenario Planning for early cashout/refund of retirement pension

tag
SecondWind
Valued Member

Scenario Planning for early cashout/refund of retirement pension

Hi everyone! I thought I would drop a scenario here that I have been mulling for a few months regarding my future pension monies in a state retirement system. I hope I can convey the details well enough for you to follow and I would love to hear your thoughts:

I am still 3.5 years from early retirement for my employer's state retirement system, which means at age 50, my pension will only be $1,100/month. If I make it to full retirement in 2040, my pension is $5452/month.

If I leave now, I can take a refund of my contributions to the pension in lieu of retirement, and after state and federal withholdings and the 10% early withdrawal penalty, I can pay off 75% of my credit card debt with the balance of the remaining pension monies. Without giving too specific of numbers, my calculations say that I can take a 20% - 30% pay cut at a new job (with different pension system) and can come out $2500 - $4000 ahead each month with the reduction in debt from the cashed out pension. I would then use that surplus to pay off the remaining 25% debt in the next 2 - 3 years.

It sure sounds like a no brainer on the surface, right?  Can anyone tell me why I SHOULDN'T do this and wait the 3.5 years for the pension instead? My plan is to look for another job that pays less, but is more conducive to my mental health, and has a retirement system that doesn't force me to contribute a percentage (current mandatory contribution for my plan is >12%). I am a 100% disabled veteran that receives max benefits from the VA so I don't need to worry about medical or dental care, for me or my family, but I'm trying to kill off all of my credit card debt, accumulated from the pandemic!

I see my options as: