cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Someone used my debit card for a large purchase!

tag
Creditplz
Valued Contributor

Someone used my debit card for a large purchase!

Hello Everybody!

Someone used my debit card for a $13350 purchase in Las Vegas NV on 6/14!! The bank requested I file a police report as the merchant does not agree and declined to go more into detail!

I filed the report when they requested it on 6/20, I am a general contractor in SoCal and was on a project all day 350+ miles away!, I showed the branch manager the pictures I took of the project that day, with my client saying he can vouch I was there all day!.

What can I do?. The merchant is 350+ miles away! The bank was not much help.. as of yet!

The bank is Alaska USA FCU
Message 1 of 48
47 REPLIES 47
Brian_Earl_Spilner
Credit Mentor

Re: Someone used my debit card for a large purchase!

You just have to wait for the bank to do it's thing. Could take days to rectify, could take weeks. This is why I don't use my debit card for purchases anymore. A credit card will have it fixed in hours to a couple days. I only use my debit to pull cash if needed 

Message 2 of 48
Anonymous
Not applicable

So sorry.  One of my questions is how did they get a debit card purchase  approved?  I would thought merchant would require id or the bank had a max on debit card transactions? We very seldom use debit card; howeveer our bank has a $5,000 max on debit card transactions unless we call and give a ton of personal information to get it raised for 1 week.       

Sounds like either merchant or bank inside job.  Do they have pictures of the user? 

Message 3 of 48
Creditplz
Valued Contributor

The bank said they have a $5000 limit for DEBIT transactions.. the thief was clever enough to run the card as credit... so the limit is essentially whatever is in my account.