cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Take out a personal loan to pay off CC debt?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Take out a personal loan to pay off CC debt?

Would like to hear everyone's thoughts. I'm a newbie, after a few days of lurking. Apologies if I make newbie mistakes.

Background:

I have 2 CCs, Citibank Doublecash with $6,500/$25,000 and Capital One Quicksilver with $3,300/$3,800. I have a very thin credit file, with Fico8 scores EX:740, EQ: 727, TU: 747. In September 2017, I maxed out at 100% UTIL, which was constant through til March 2018. From April 2018, started to pay down the debt. In April 2018, My Fico8s were down in the 650s.  I'm now down to $10,000 CC debt at just over 30% UTIL. Paying off the remaining debt will take me until around May 2019.I have one HP from September 2017.

With my scores improving, I feel that I have a great chance of getting approved for a loan with a relatively good interest rate. I can then immediately pay off the $10,000 CC debt and hopefully taking out the loan would help with my thin file problem.  What does everyone think?  Take out the loan, or, just hang on in there and keep paying down the CC debt? I do plan on making 1 or 2 CC applications in 2019. 

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
SlideOrInsert
Regular Contributor

Re: Take out a personal loan to pay off CC debt?

what is your income? I think that has much to do with loan approvals along with scores.

what are the interest rates on each card? I would look at the interest $ you are actually paying each month from your last statement. May is only about five months away and the $ difference in interest might not be worth the HP and effort. I would not take a HP just to pad your file with a loan you are going to pay off in five months.