Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Talk to me about stocks

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Talk to me about stocks

First off, I have read a ton of books about stock investing, I've read a lot of the boglehead wikis and forums, I've absorbed a lot of info about this. Still, I'm a newbie to actually doing it so forgive me if I ask some obvlivious questions.

In another thread @iced mentioned an approach that's yielding way more than high interest checking/savings accounts/CDs/SUBs that caught my attention:

@iced wrote:

As an example, I've got one stock I'm about $30,000 into. It doesn't experience a ton of growth on the share price, but it's yielding about $2,500 a year in dividends, and has consistently paid a high dividend for years that increases annually at a rate higher than inflation. By comparison, that same $30,000 in a 2.2% savings (which is now heading back down, unfortunately) would yield $660. I'd have to move that money 4 times to get the bonus 4x before I match what I get leaving it parked in stocks and forgetting it. Reinvesting the dividends into the same stock will yield double the shares in about 7 years, parlaying that dividend into more than $5,000 annually given the annual increases in dividend payout. The icing on the cake is that $2500 is taxed at 15% while the ~$1000 I get each year in interest is taxed at full income (28%ish).

So, help me understand. When I looked at dividends from stocks, they all seemed to be less than 4%, which is why I initially dismissed them. I'm primarily looking at Vanguard because my retirement account is there. Ar eyou able to name specific accounts you've had sucess with?

For example, I'm looking at Vanguard High Dividend Yield ETF. Is this the sort of fund you're referring to?

Message 1 of 33
32 REPLIES 32
Brian_Earl_Spilner
Credit Mentor

Re: Talk to me about stocks