Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

The Quest for an SSL alternative to Alliant

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: The Quest for an SSL alternative to Alliant

Hey Guys,

I am trying to figure out SSL’s as a total novice.  I found a NY based CU that seems to be a good option.  Apparently, they do not do a hard pull to join nor do they do a HP when you open the SSL.  Limitations: they only allow a loan of 80% of the amount in the savings account and they only report to the credit agencies quarterly.  When I asked the rep if I can immediately pay the loan down to 10%-ish she asked why I would do it since they only report quarterly.  Assuming you can pay it down and get the money out on the savings account how detrimental is only the quarterly reporting? It seems that this will tie up a little more cash than others but I am OK with that if the minimum loan requirement is not too high. They do not list the loan rates on their site so that is another issue.

The rep wasn't exactly excited to field my call so I will call back again tomorrow to confirm the details if you all think it is a promising option.  I will post the name after I confirm all the details.  I think anyone in NY State can get a SSL.

Calling the NYC credit unions is hilarious, “only in NY, Kids. Only in NY” HAHA.

NB

Message 71 of 468
Anonymous
Not applicable

The quarterly reporting is no problem.

The problem from our end would be if membership in the CU was confined to one state.

Message 72 of 468
Anonymous
Not applicable

Thanks!  My understanding is membership is open to anyone, but they only will issue loans to NY state residents so that isn't much help.  I will confirm all the details tomorrow.

They are also in conservatorship so there is that...  They were a big taxi medallion lender.  I have no issue with this.

Message 73 of 468
Cookiegrabber
Regular Contributor

LOL, I recognized Mel**** CU. Been looking at too many CUs the last month...

Starting Scores: No Scores (03/2018)