cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What is the easiest way to start saving?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

What is the easiest way to start saving?

I am 20 years old and have a good job for my age. I am a college student, and still live at home. i do have a problem with learning how to balance my budgets and saving my money. I need more help trying to. I feel like credit cards get in my way, but I now have paid down all of my balances to 0 and feel really good about it but I feel like it has drained me. Any advice on how to save more money?

I make like 28,000 a year, and only have to pay for gas and phone bill so I am extremely lucky. I am now more relying on my debit card then credit cards and I think that is starting to help me out a lot.

Thanks in advance for the replies.

Message 1 of 16
15 REPLIES 15
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: What is the easiest way to start saving?

Can you sign up for a 401K or other savings plan through your job?  If you can have the money taken from your check before you ever get it that may help you with the savings. 

Message 2 of 16
Anonymous
Not applicable

Budget.
Place savings at top, not bottom, of said budget. Bottom is where things go when you "might" do then "if". Savings is something you want to do always, starting now.

I use a homemade spreadsheet but there are any number of apps, websites, pregame, spreadsheets available for your trial and use for budgeting purposes. It's like exercise - whatever you will keep up is what you should use.

See recent thread regarding investing in retirement options. Start now! This compounds quickly with age.

Definitely do your best to stick to what you can afford of your income only from now on. You want your cc's to be a tool not an anchor - form good habits. You can let a small balance report on one, best is under 9% (of your total credit limit), the rest at 0.