cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What is your goal? Why play the FICO game?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

What is your goal? Why play the FICO game?

Hi, I'm looking for more inspiration to be purposeful with my finances and I want to know what yall are working towards. I'm rather new to improving my FICO score so all ideas are new ideas to me.

My first goal is to improve my loan terms on future purchases like my future dream-home and maybe a nicer car when this one dies. Also I want better terms on my car insurance and anything that pulls my credit.

My second goal is to retire early- before 55 if possible which requires a TON of work now so I'm starting early. I figure a great FICO score can only help me since "Rich Dad, Poor Dad" says debt can be the fastest way to build wealth.

Message 1 of 26
25 REPLIES 25
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: What is your goal? Why play the FICO game?

You certainly save some money when you can get approved for the best rates.  I also feel it is necessary(for me) to have high enough limits where I can go out and make a large purchase and not have to worry about the reporting balances killing my scores.  

You never know when you may need credit immediately.  My car could die tomorrow and I would have to go get one.  Sudden funeral expenses?  Need a new roof before the next rain hits?  Applying for a new job and they run a credit check?  In these scenarios, you probably won't have time to fix your scores/profile so it is better to keep them as reasonable as possible.

Message 2 of 26
chhull00
Frequent Contributor

nice answer            

Message 3 of 26
hernaemm90
New Contributor

@Anonymous wrote:

I figure a great FICO score can only help me since "Rich Dad, Poor Dad" says debt can be the fastest way to build wealth.

Is this sarcastic?

Message 4 of 26
pinkandgrey
Senior Contributor

Mostly for my own satisfaction lol

But also so I can get good rates on mortgages/auto loans, etc.