Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

7 Years old debt - Collection suddenly calling now

tag
Carpediem24

7 Years old debt - Collection suddenly calling now

Hello,

I opened a credit card with $500 CL back in 11/2007 with National City Bank in Michigan. I was a student back then, stupid and irresponsible. I couldnt pay the balance that has now come up to $850. The last activity on this card (120 days late) was in March 2009. I am hoping that in less 2 years (7 years from 03/2009) this negative entry will fall off my report. I have, since then, had a good credit history of paying more than 12 accounts with revolving debt and an auto loan that started at $17000 and is now at less than $7000. My credit score has climbed to being just shy of 700, which started at 560.

Yesterday, the 19th of May, I suddenly get a mail from a collection agency about this. The letter has a service date of 11/2007 even though the last activity on my CR is 3/2009.

Should I take it seriously in terms that the Statute of limit has passed or not (2007 vs 2009). Secondly the bank that gave me the card has since been acquired by PNC in New Jersey and they are listed as the original creditor in my CR. The statute of limit for MI and/or NJ is 6 years which is passed based on the date in the collection letter. Can this restart the 7 years time on my credit report now? Is paying it off in my credit's interest or am I harming it more by restarting the activity on the CR.

Please help! Should I even speak to them and negotiate a lower amount or pay-to-delete or something?

Mid 2012 - 560
Mid 2013 - EX: 610 TU: 615; EQ:590
Mid 2014 - EX, TU: 677; EQ:650
Goal Score: Mid 2015 - 720+
Message 1 of 20
19 REPLIES 19
Shogun
Moderator Emeritus

Re: 7 Years old debt - Collection suddenly calling now

@Carpediem24 wrote:

Hello,