Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Action Plan

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Action Plan

Hello, all, 

I’ve been reading on this site for a few months, and I have to say I am so grateful for the wealth of knowledge shared here!  You all have made a safe haven for those looking to improve their financial well-being.  

I’m a newborn newbie to credit learning, much to my chagrin.  I’m hoping I can get some feedback or improvement on my action plan for rebuilding credit and get a good rate on a mortgage in about 2-3 years.  Pulled my 3 reports in Dec 2018.  Currently, my TU Fico 8 is 663 and EX is 662, no idea on EQ (didn’t want to pay for scores quite yet). 

The good: 

I was an authorized user on my ex’s card in good standing $13K+ limit.  It is closed and due to fall off my report in 2022, so I’d like to bulk up my file with good info in anticipation of that event.  It’s a 27-year-old-card (started when he was a teenager!).  Currently, I have no lates on my one active card and utilization of 8-11%.  0 inquiries (all soft pull). 

The bad:  

I have an anemically thin file, just one active credit card opened 4/2018, a Discover secured.  It  graduated last year and now stands at $2,200.   No car loan, student loans are long gone, and I’ve just pretty much paid cash or debit, and never thought about credit.  My ex never put me on the mortgage.  

The ugly:  

I have one old collection.  It was $224, from my former cell phone.  I had switched from AT&T to Verizon, and then moved right after.  Thought it was paid completely when I switched, but apparently not.  Grrr, stupid me!   I didn’t know about it until I pulled my reports in December 2018.  Paid in full in late January, and is now reporting as paid.  

The collection does not appear on EQ, and my reports from December state it is due to fall off from EX in June 2019 (3 months), and from TU in Aug 2019 (6 months).  No idea why they’re different.  

The plan: