Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Advice on dealing with PRA

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Advice on dealing with PRA

Hello All,

This is my first post and I'm just starting my credit rebuild. I seem to be getting the run around from PRA in regards to a $450 chargeoff that they bought from Capital One. I called and spoke with a supervisor yesterday and got the balance reduced to $292. The only problem is they don't want to send me anything stating that if I pay the amount agreed on it will be settled in full. I also noticed that the amount on their website still remains at the original amount of $450, they also have a payment due listed at $292 by the 12th of July. It kinda seems to me like they have it listed as a payment only and will attempt to collect the rest. I don't plan on paying it unless I get something from them stating it will be paid in full.

This is my first time dealing with a CA and was curious if anyone has any suggestions... Thanks for your time.

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
jons998877
Regular Contributor

Re: Advice on dealing with PRA

Pay the $292 and they will delete it... 

Begin of Journey ( 9/2018) EX 508 TU 506 EQ 498

Message 2 of 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

I can understand your concern, but Portfolio Recovery is one of the easiest to work with. Pay the $292 & they will mark it as paid in full, then in 30 days they will delete from your report.

Message 3 of 9
FireMedic1
Community Leader
Mega Contributor

+1

Message 4 of 9
BallBounces
Valued Contributor

To echo the others, If I were in your shoes, I would pay the $292 ASAP in order to move the process along.  This is given my prior experience with PRA as well as feedback from others.

That being said, I understand the concern of following the mantra of "get it in writing".  Our point is that this is a relatively small delta and PRA has a consistent, recent track record.

Also, to set expectations, what is likely to occur is this: