cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Asset Acceptance won't accept payment!

tag
MarcinXP
Frequent Contributor

Re: Asset Acceptance won't accept payment!

If you are in North Carolina the new law states that no collection company can collect a debt if it's past the NC SOL. Very nice law and should be everywhere as JDBs wont be able to lie to customers and hassle them. Asset will delete the tradeline, however your BOA tradeline will stay. It will show $0 as it was charged off or sold. BOA will also not able to take a payment. Basically Asset bought it from them in hopes of getting the money from you and now that they can't they lost and moved on. This will stay on your credit and you can goodwill BOA and see if they remove the tradeline, however it should say $0 Charged Off so that should not affect your FHA Loan...I believe only UNPAID Balances affect it...however Im not an expert on mortgages so not sure about that.

NFCU Visa Sig $30k / Amex Blue Cash $25.5k / Fidelity Amex $25k / Chase Freedom $14.5k / Citi Double Cash $5k / Capital One Quicksilver Visa Sig $5k / Citi Best Buy MC $3K / Barclay Rewards MC $2.95k / BOA - BBR $2.5k / SY Lowes $15k / SY Amazon $6k / Target RedCard - $300
Message 21 of 28
Shogun
Moderator Emeritus

I agree with guiness.  There is no valid debt anymore so it won't affect your mortgage.  You will just have a CO with a $0 balance.

Starting Score: 504
July 2013 score:
EQ FICO 819, TU08 778, EX "806 lender pull 07/26/2013
Goal Score: All Scores 760+, Newest goal 800+
Take the myFICO Fitness Challenge

Current scores after adding $81K in CLs and 2 new cars since July 2013
EQ:809 TU 777 EX 790 Now it's just garden time!

June 2017 update: All scores over 820, just pure gardening now.
Message 22 of 28
rightcoast
Frequent Contributor