Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Bad times

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Bad times

Hi everyone!

It's been almost a year since I've been here, and I wish it was on better terms for my return. 

long story short- I was let go from my job for enlisting in the Army (I know, very illegal and I chose not to pursue any legal matters). Because of this I've racked up quite the debt. I was in able to go into the Army for some medical issues that arose. 

Current day- I work as a 1099 contractor for a few companies and the money is inconsistent. I've been applying for new jobs but the market is crazy right now and very competitive (for a wage that I am comfortable with). 

Until I secure a new position, what suggestions are there for me? I've not been using the cards but unfortunately I'm only able to pay minimums due. I do have a few cards I will be able to pay off soon and will use those payments towards other cards to help pay them down, but what else is there for me to do?

FICO scores are hovering around the 675 range, unfortunately. BK is not an option I'm willing to consider at the moment as I am looking at positions in other states (I've interviewed and I'm waiting to hear back), and a BK will cause me issues finding a house. 

Thanks everyone!

Message 1 of 13
12 REPLIES 12
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Bad times

Maybe you can do door dash or something for a little supplemental income to pay your cards down?

Are you asking what you should do to pay your cards down, or do you have other negatives besides high balances on your report?

Message 2 of 13
kb2ehj
New Contributor

Like stated in the above post, you take a second or third part time job and pay them off.

Amazon is always hiring, it's not the greatest but it's money.

Message 3 of 13
Horseshoez
Senior Contributor