Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Bank of America GW help

tag
blondie_keen
New Contributor

Bank of America GW help

Bank of America gave me my very first CC back in 2003 just after I graduated and after just 6 months or so of on time payments they upped my limit to $1000! Things were good until I got sick and had to stop working and drop out of school (horrible anxiety attacks). Suddenly I didn't have any income coming in and was too afraid to tell my mom I was missing my payments so my account went 60 days delinquent before my mom found out everything and made me call them up. They agreed to close my account and I would pay off the $1000 I owed (after my mom paid $600 in extra fees!!!) I finally paid it off 1 1/2 or so ago and thought nothing of how it was impacting my credit.

Fast forward to now. I am trying to get back on track and understand my credit and fix my past mistakes. What can I do here with this CC? Do I ask them to forgive the 60 days late or what? I would like to be extended credit with them in the future so I want to get/stay on their good side.

ps. the bureau's are stating a date open: 05-2003

balance date: 08-2007

prior delinquency:06-07 of 2005

Is this impacting my score big time or is it too small a deal to worry about now? Please let me know what you would do if you were in my position.

Thanks!

ps. how should i format the gw letter- just look at the examples available here??

MAY 2009 FICO SCORES

EQ 639
TU 647
Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
llecs
Moderator Emeritus

Re: Bank of America GW help

I probably would call BofA and ask for 2 things: 1) to reopen the account - and they might. and 2) out of goodwill would you remove the lates. If they say no to both, I'd probably wait a day or two and call again. If still no, then I'd probably GW for the late and call to reopen in the future.
Message 2 of 6
blondie_keen
New Contributor