Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Best way to rebuild credit?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Best way to rebuild credit?

Hello,

I am new to working on credit and want to make sure I'm doing the best steps to get my credit up.

My Credit Karma scores are 629 and 652 (I know these aren't the most accurate).

My debt is: 

$165,000 home loan

$70,000 student loan

$100 on a $300 limit secure card

$600 on a $1500 limit Wayfair (store) card

$575 in collections 

and a bankruptcy from 2015

Everything is paid on time. What's the best way to get my credit score up?

Edited to add: I have a lot of hard pulls from 2019 when I purchased my home. 

9 REPLIES 9
gdale6
Moderator Emeritus

Re: Best way to rebuild credit?

First off I would try to get the PFD on those collections and if thats not possible just settle them so they can age back in time and quit keeping your Fico depressed with monthly updates. Second you need one more open revolver to drive a rebuild at minimum. I would also make sure only one card reports a small amount (less than 9% of its CL) to the CRAs each month to get your max possible Fico from revolvers. As that BK ages back in time your Fico will gain points but until it is totally gone its the elephant in the room. Welcome to the board.

http://ficoforums.myfico.com/t5/Rebuilding-Your-Credit/PFD-Q-amp-A-Examples-and-PFD-Success-Stories/...

http://ficoforums.myfico.com/t5/Rebuilding-Your-Credit/PFD-Example-Letter/td-p/4519

Message 2 of 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

Thanks for your response. What is PFD? Do you think it's worth the pull to apply for another secured card at this time? Or would paying off my current cards have the safe effect? 

Message 3 of 10
gdale6
Moderator Emeritus

@Anonymous wrote:

Thanks for your response. What is PFD? Do you think it's worth the pull to apply for another secured card at this time? Or would paying off my current cards have the safe effect?