Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Big reporting discrepancy with credit union auto loan

tag
DaveStPete
Established Member

Big reporting discrepancy with credit union auto loan

I am just beginning to strategize for cleaning up my credit report and have discovered something very troubling related to an active auto loan with my local credit union, GTE Financial.

I was late 30 days four times in the 2-year reporting window on my report here, and EQ and EX are correctly showing:

LATE 30 DAYS - 4 times (Apr 2016, Jan 2016, Dec 2015, Oct 2015)

But TU shows:

LATE 30 DAYS - 15 times (Oct 2016, Jul 2016, Jun 2016, May 2016, Apr 2016, Mar 2016, Feb 2016, Jan 2016, Dec 2015, Nov 2015, Oct 2015, Sep 2015, Aug 2015, May 2015, Jun 2014)

What is my best strategy for attacking this reporting anomaly?  A visit to my local branch, or to the main office in Tampa, or an email with copy of the three sections showing the discrepancy?  I certainly don't want them to update all 3 CRAs to 15 lates!

Current FICO (11/10/17): EQ: 646 / TU: 679 / EX: 674
Starting FICO (2/19/17): EQ: 580 / TU: 620 / EX: 594
Message 1 of 3
2 REPLIES 2
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Big reporting discrepancy with credit union auto loan

I believe doing an online dispute through TU would be a good place to start. You can upload supporting documentation for your case to have the lates removed.  Once you dispute on there the creditor will have 30 days to reply back. If they don't then it will be removed from your credit report. 

Message 2 of 3
RobertEG
Legendary Contributor

Re: Big reporting discrepancy with credit union auto loan

The FCRA does not specifically mandate that a furnisher must initially report to a CRA, or that all information regarding payment history must be reported.

It also does not require that a furnisher report the exact same payment history derogs to all CRAs.