cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CO chase student loans

tag
Poetassium

CO chase student loans

So, I am a co signer on my wife's student loan, we were paying on it on time $57 a month. The all at once no bill and idisappeared from our online banking. I went into the local branch, they could not really see what was going on but assumed it was sold. Called them a little while later and yes it was sold. Not uncommon, I took a loan with one bank and by the time I graduated it had been in the hands of four other banks. Then out of nowhere bam it is in collections? No bill, been sold, in ever missed a payment until something happened. What do I do bal is 5k+ settlement is still like 3500. I can't afford that and the CA won't stop fees on account so if I continue my monthly payment I won't get any where cus they want to charge me collections fees of $600 a year. I'm lost?

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
guiness56
Epic Contributor

Re: CO chase student loans

How long from the time it disappeared from your bank did it show up with a CA?

Message 2 of 6
Poetassium

12-18 months

Message 3 of 6
guiness56
Epic Contributor

Well, that could be why all of a sudden it shows you owe that much.

Have you contacted the DOE and explained to them what happened and you were never made aware who got your debt.

Message 4 of 6
Poetassium

to clarify this was a private loan. So I dont think DOEd (doe=dept of energy fyi) could help me. suggestions? apparently it was sold to the collection agentcey, this is why chase couldnt see it. I waiting like two months of not getting a bill to do anything. Everyone seems to just blame eash other CA says chase sent it to them, Chase says I was 90 days late and they sold it yet my last payment that posted to the account was like 70 days prior. Nobody wants to admit if there is a mistake or not so idk.

Message 5 of 6
guiness56
Epic Contributor

Yep, pretty sure the Department of Energy can't help.