cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can I file my own Motion to Vacate a judgment?

tag
diabla
Regular Contributor

Re: Can I file my own Motion to Vacate a judgment?

@igids1 wrote:
I would leave it up to the lawyers if you really want it off. Many states have a 1-3 year statute for motion to vacate based on errors, which appears to be your reason. In my experience, the courts are far more lenient when the plaintiffs attorney is filing the motion

I'd better see if I can find out about any statutes.  My BK lawyer didn't mention it, and I wonder if I paid him $350 and then he couldn't get it vacated - I doubt that I'd get a refund, because apparently the court charges $150 for the filing.  The other $200 is probably his fee for his time.

Message 11 of 18
IndianaJane

I was an attorney before disability stopped me from practicing law. 

One word of advice -- if this attorney will do that for $350, pay him and do a happy dance. I'd have charged much more. The jurisdiction you're in might have a local judge like our's who HATED pro se litigants, would humiliate them, then tell them he'd render judgment then but he'd give them got me to go get an attorney. The clerks office cannot give you good legal advice, but they can let you know how the local judge feels about it. If you want to proceed on your own, PM me and I'll give you some pointers (not legal advice!). 

Starting Score: EQ 532
Current Score: 532
Goal Score: 760

Take the FICO Fitness Challenge
Message 12 of 18
diabla
Regular Contributor

@IndianaJane wrote:

I was an attorney before disability stopped me from practicing law.