cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cap 1 Strategy

Auto Loans for ANY Credit Situation. Immediate Response.
Advertiser disclosure

Cap 1 Strategy

Hey guys on the road to rebuilding my credit. I been in the low below 500 club for a while but as of today my Experian, and Trans Union is sitting at 579... my Eqiufax is still at 497 but its getting there. I have an income of about $67,000. I have a secured master card with Cap 1 that I"ve been using for 1.6 years with a limit of $650. I've been trying my luck and my scores went up and I was approved for another Cap 1 Platium mastercard unsecured with a $500 limit. I also was approved for a credit card with Credit one bank for $500 as well. and I eneded it with a kohls card ar $300 for some diversity

Now I was just going to put a couple bills on auto pay and and pay off the credit cards when their due..... But since I bank with Capital one as well. are their any tips and trips in regards to Cli's and upgrading cards. I would love to upgrade my secured card to a quick silver

Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
Established Contributor

Re: Cap 1 Strategy

The strategy for Cap1 is simple:

Every 6 months. It’s a fairly new rule at Cap1 but here it is; You can only get a CLI every 6 months. You can only get a new card every 6 months. So set a reminder for each card. When you hit 6 months, hit the CLI button. An approved CLI resets the clock for that card but not the others. Declines don’t reset the clock. Same for approvals for a new card. Each cards clock is independent of the other.

Looking at your scores your main strategy to increase your scores should be around your other issues not Cap1. I took my score from 450 to 640 in six months so if your score is where it is I’m going to assume it’s being held down by multiple baddies. You need to attack those because your current scores are only going to get you very tiny CLI.