Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Capital One Goodwill Letter Accepted

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Capital One Goodwill Letter Accepted

Hello,

First post here, but I have been lurking for a while! I figured this info might help someone, so here it goes:

I have been working on building and establishing my credit since about four years ago. I had only a few negative items (a couple medical collections, two 30 day late payments), but had never really had any credit established until 2016 (I'm in my late 20's, and no one impressed upon me the importance of establishing credit growing up). Over the last couple years I paid off and had all medical collections but one removed from my report, and the final negative items on my credit report other than this were two 30 day late payments (both from August, 2018, missed due to being out of work for medical reasons), one on an auto loan, and one on a credit card. Both credit card and auto loan are through Capital One. After reading through some posts on the forums here, I decided last month to give a goodwill adjustment letter a shot.

It worked! I was contacted a few days ago by the office of the CEO and told Captial One would be revising both payments to paid as agreed. These revisions have already showed up on my credit report.

I started the process by calling Capital One cistomer service. After working my way up the chain, I was told by a manager that they did not offer a goodwill program and couldnt help me. So dont get discouraged if you call and they tell you this. I wrote a letter to the CEO (and emailed a copy as well). Some from the "Office of the President" called within a week, and stated they would investigate. A week or so later, and I got the call letter me know that they would be revising my payment history. 

A couple things that probably helped my case if you decide to try this:

1. I had no other missed payments and both accounts were current within a day or two of me noticing they were 30 days late.