Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Charge Off Capital One Account

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Charge Off Capital One Account

Hello! I am new to this site and though I started off my poor credit history so young (twenty years old at this time), I am hoping to clean it up as fast as I can. Over two years ago, I opened two credit cards which I became unable to make payments on. After overcoming a layoff, I have finally paid off the debt I occurred on both credit cards within this last year. 

With a stable job, I finally got the guts to check my credit score for the first time today, I already knew it would be low at 545 because of these two dings on my report. I am new to this and would love some advice on how to clean it up. My credit is at 100%, debt at 0% because I have no loans, mortgages, or other payments on my credit at this time. Like I said, I'm young and fairly new to this.

Moving on to my CC: My AMEX credit card is listed as "CLOSED" however, my Capital One says "Charge Off" and I am confused where to go from here. Any tips are greatly appreciated and I look forward to any responses you guys may have.

Thank you!!

Message 1 of 3
2 REPLIES 2
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Charge Off Capital One Account

Hello,

If both your CC (AMEX & CAP ONE) are paid in full, go ahead and start sending them GW letters to have the negative info removed from those two tradelines......Most likely since CAP ONE is a Charge OFF then your best bet is to GW  them to remove the entire tradeline altogether. If AMEX is only showing Closed PAID IN FULL but you have some lates on there (ie, 30,60,90days late, etc.....) then you can GW them to only remove those LATES.....

In the meantime, get two secured credit card accounts and make sure to use them and pay them in full every month....In about 4-6 months you should be able to  see your scores improve quite a bit.