Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Charged off account reopened after dispute

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Charged off account reopened after dispute

In 2014 I voluntarily surrendered a vehicle that I had been financing through Santander for five years. Santander had been reporting this as a charge off on my credit report until May of this year when I decided to actively work towards increasing my credit score. I disputed everything on my report, including Santander, because it was showing "repossession" instead of "voluntary repossession". As a result of my dispute, Santander reopened my account and sold it to a collection agency, and is now reporting as 120 days past due for the last few months. Prior to this, I had managed to increase my credit score over 100 points in 3 months. The reopening of this account single handedly dropped my score nearly 60 points. I imagine they will continue to report late each month which will do more harm to my score than all of the positive things I'm doing to increase my score. Is this legal? How do I get around this? I can't possibly pay the $436 payment I had on that repo'd car every month, in addition to my current car payment.
Message 1 of 13
12 REPLIES 12
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Charged off account reopened after dispute

@Anonymous wrote: