Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Chase Strategy

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Chase Strategy

Hey Guys,

First off this site has been great, I have learned a tremendous amount over the past few months.  I have a pretty obscure question for you all.

I had a Chase card (1331) that I opened in 2008 that I balanced transferred to a Chase Sapphire card in September of 2011, and I sock drawered the card.  I melted on the Chase Sapphire, and it was charged off in 2013 (DoFD 10/12) for about $4K.  I figured I would never have credit again, so I did not check my credit report until I, out of the blue, applied for an unsecured card last December and was approved.  Now I am moving in the right direction and have seen substantial increases in my scores, BUT I think there is a critical mistake on my report.

The 1331 card also showed a charge-off in 2013.  I called Chase a few weeks ago and requested the statements, and the statements indicate the account paid in full in September of 2011, but in August of 2013 there is an "overdraft" to my checking account on the account which I think is a mistake.  At no point did I use this account for anything, nor do I think I even had access to it.  I do not remember if I officially closed it or not but, clearly it wasn't being used for two years.  I do all of my banking with Chase (pretty stupid to burn them...) and had an active overdraft line on my checking account separate from 1331.  Nothing was ever added after the $100 so with Fees and Interested the charge off was $304.

Now I may have screwed myself because before I did comprehensive research, I paid in full the $304 because it was a relatively small amount of money and I felt that it was a way to improve my situation.

So, what should I do?  Thank you all in advance.

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
gdale6
Moderator Emeritus

Re: Chase Strategy

@Anonymous wrote:

Hey Guys,