Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Close Sub-Prime Cards?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Close Sub-Prime Cards?

Greetings Credit Warriors! As you can see by my post count, I'm pretty new at this. 

For some background, I've been working on my credit in earnest for about 3-4 months. When I started, my scores were in the low to mid 500's. I've been able to pay off many of my accounts, and pay down others, bringing my overall utilization to under 30%. I was also able to open 3 new sub-prime cards- Blaze, First Access, and First Premier; all with $300-350 CL. I also have a few older cards- Total ($300CL), Capital One ($1800CL), Capital One secured ($300CL), and a local credit union ($1000CL). Also, a few days ago, I was approved by NFCU for a Visa with a $3750 CL (card hasn't arrived yet). My older cards are 3-10 years old. I also have a ~6 year old Fingerhut account with $2000 limit. I have several charge offs 3+ years old.

My scores (Fico 8) currently are EQ-628  TU-645  EX-631. 

My question is whether I should close the 3 newer sub-prime cards. My goal is to get into a position to qualify for a mortgage, and I've read on here that lenders don't like to see sub-prime cards. Would it generally help or hurt me to close them; both in regards to mortgage scores and regular scores?

Mods: sorry if this is in the wrong section; please move if appropriate.

Thanks for any advice offered!

7 REPLIES 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Close Sub-Prime Cards?

Leaving them open or closing them will do nothing to your score ... the tradeline and positive payment history will remain on your credit reports for years. So in theory, when a mortgage lender pulls your credit, they will see the tradelines, but whether or not they'll view them as good or bad really is up to the lender (and it may not matter unless/until they do a manual review).