Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Collections - IQ Data International - How did this happen and next steps

tag
ModelCitizen

Collections - IQ Data International - How did this happen and next steps

Hello all,

Forgive me in advance, as my head is spinning and I'm a bit peeved about all of this.

I just got an alert this morning that there had been a change to my credit score. 

I logged in and found that I have a new collections account by IQ Data International for $83.

My credit scored has dropped a whopping 45 points from 818 to 775.

Backstory:

I moved out of an apartment in Houston, TX on August 8, 2018. To my knowledge, I had no outstanding balance.

I was a resident there for 1.5 years and did not have to pay a security deposit, always paid on time, kept my renter's insurance current, etc. My apartment was clean as a whistle when I moved out. I actually moved out a day early (lease term was through August 9, 2018). When I returned my keys, I also included my forwarding address. 

Fast forward October 1, 2018: I received a forwarded piece of mail (was addressed to me at my former Houston address) from this collections agency. The letter was dated September 19, 2018. I contacted the leasing office at my old apartment that very day and left a voicemail and sent a follow-up e-mail as to what this balance was for, why is this the first time I was being made aware of it, and how could I have a collections account when I literally just moved out the month prior. To date, I still have not received any response  from the old apartment. 

My first notice of even knowing that I had some mysterious balance (how and why do I owe $83 remains a mystery) at my old apartment was a collections notice. How is this even possible? 

How do I go about correcting this? 

Message 1 of 2
1 REPLY 1
RobertEG
Legendary Contributor

Re: Collections - IQ Data International - How did this happen and next steps