Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Collections

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Collections

I'm new to this but if I have an account in collections that has been years should I try to pay it off or just let it be? I always have mixed answers but I've just seen it on my report still.
Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
Gramz
Contributor

Re: Collections

I would say let it be if it's not reporting a balance every month.  How long have the account been in collection? What is the DOFD? 

With those question answer I know someone else can give a better insight on this.

welcome to the forums.

Gardening ‎10-13-2017

FICO 8[10-25-2017] EX: 706, EQ: 714, TU: 719
FICO 8[1-04-2018] EX: 714, EQ: 737, TU: 721
Message 2 of 6
Anonymous
Not applicable

OP, I'm in a similar situation as you are right now.  I have one remaining collection account with PRA that is due to fall off at the end of 2018.  I'm debating whether to pay it off or not.  From what I read from this forum, it seems like many has suggested not to pay off collection account unless it's a PFD because paying it off will cause the score to decrease because it will be updated.  I understand that, but my situation is a bit different.  My collection account has been updated regularly by PRA at the beginning of each month and the middle of the month ever since I contacted them to PFD and they refused.  I would like to know 1) if I pay it, and they update it as paid in full, will it stop updating each month, 2) will I see an increase in my fico after the account is updated as paid.   

Message 3 of 6
gdtobefree
Established Contributor

That is correct. If you PIF it may reset the SOL. 

If it is past the SOL in your state then they cannot legally sue you for it. 

I would hold on for just a little bit longer especially if it is due to fall off your reports that soon.