Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Credit monitoring strategy

tag
kmacqua
Regular Contributor

Credit monitoring strategy

Hi folks, I'm a newbie here and looking for advice on what credit monitoring strategy would be right for me.

My goals are to continue to improve my FICO and to apply for a mortgage in 1-2 years.  I've managed to pay off a lot of debt after an adverse life event in 2009 and feel like I've "rounded the credit corner".  But given my future goals for a mortgage, I need to more actively monitor my credit reports and manage my scores.  I want to:

1. Check where my current scores are.
  2. Review my reports for any inaccuracies to clear up & opportunities to GW remove any accurate negatives.
  3. See how my scores improve by various actions I take, like reducing remaining CC debt and utilization %, CLI, etc.

I got a little overwhelmed looking at my credit monitoring options.

I'm registering for Target's offer of the free year of credit monitoring through Experian.  But that will give me one Experian credit report (one poster said there was a way to get updated reports throughout the year, but others haven't been able to see that option available, so I think it'll just be the one report), and no score.  The "monitoring" is useful for alerting to possible identity theft type activity, but not so much for monitoring the actual credit report or FICO.

I plan to get my free credit reports from the big 3, but was thinking of staggering them--maybe quarterly? and starting with TU or Equifax since I'll get my Experian report through Target's offer.

Then what?  I'll need my actual FICO scores, of course.  From where?  But do I need all 3 at once?  Or will 1 do for now and check the others later? And the real FICOs; I'm not interested in anyone else's metric.