Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Credit one yes or no

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Credit one yes or no

Just got a pre approval for a credit one card up to “2,000” cl.

Should I get it? I only have one card reporting capital one made my scores go up 81pts.

Filed chapter 7 and discharged on 6/23
Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
3004life
Valued Member

Re: Credit one yes or no

Not a bad card for rebuilding at least they gave you a shot. Have Visa and Master started at 600.00 they review at least every six months credit line up to 1050.00 on one 800.00 on the other. Caution they will charge for increase 19.99 I do believe. In the rebuilding mode take what you can get and BUILD! Im just learning how important it is to keep utilization low, I'm at 20% on all accounts now, however goal is 7% ,I will be there soon and will stay there! Hope that helps for what its worth. Good Luck.

Message 2 of 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

They seem terrible to me, if you already have something reporting I'd wait it out.

Message 3 of 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

I’m not a fan. But your BK is so recent you have to take what you can get. As mentioned they are loaded with fees. Fees for limit increases, monlthy fees, fees for breathing. But you should only need them for one year. Look at it like the cost of rebuilding. Don’t wait until the last minute to pay your bill. They love to hold your payment for week and hit you with a late fee. Payment? What payment? You made a payment?....hmm let me take a look.

Try to get a Discover secured card. See the rebuilding thread for other options. I like Merrick, Open Sky, or even a Comenity store card. But as I said if you go into it aware of how they operate you can avoid issues.

https://ficoforums.myfico.com/t5/Bankruptcy/Bankruptcy-Friendly-Credit-Cards-Pt-2/td-p/3999737

Message 4 of 7
wantitgone
Contributor