Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Credit rebuild..any and all advice welcome

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Credit rebuild..any and all advice welcome

Hi, I'm trying to rebuild my credit. I'm at 530 ex 528 eq and 520 trans. I have a first progress secured credit card with a 200 dollar limit. I just opened a 500 dollar credit builder Loan with credit strong and I have a finger hut account with a limit of 130 right now. My question is....should I try to get more credit cards or just pay some payments on these accounts for a few months before I try to get an unsecured credit card. I was told I should try to have 3 credit card accounts to maximize my credit score. I'm new to this, any advice will help me. I have a lot of questions so if someone who its smart with this type of stuff and wants to teach me....I'm all ears..thanks in advance
Message 1 of 11
10 REPLIES 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Credit rebuild..any and all advice welcome

Three cards and a loan are ideal but you don’t need all of them now. Maintain payments and low utilization on what you have currently, let the accounts age, and in 6-8 months start trying prequals for Discover or CapOne secured cards (preferably Disco as it’ll graduate). You’re making the right moves, just take your time and don’t rush things.
Message 2 of 11
dynamicvb
Valued Contributor

Re: Credit rebuild..any and all advice welcome

+1 with Devil, just hold tight and build up some history and age. In a few months, your scores will start to rise and you will be able to get better cards that will grow.

Started Rebuild 4/2018: EX 616| TU 604| EQ 621

Current 5/28/20:

First Goal Score: 750+ Reached 3/2019

Next Goal all over 800
Message 3 of 11
Anonymous
Not applicable

Looking for solid advice